RockEng22 – Kingston

After being postponed twice due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 22nd Canadian Rock Mechanics Symposium was held at the Isabel Bader Centre at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada on August 8-10, 2022. The RockEng22 Symposium, hosted by the Canadian Rock Mechanics Association (CARMA), was themed to celebrate Canadian excellence in rock mechanics and a […]

Read More
2022 ARMA Award

2022 Student Level ARMA Service Award

The 2022 Student Level ARMA Service Award, handed out by the American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), has been awarded to Aly Abdelaziz. This award is given for outstanding and selfless service demonstrated by a student within the ARMA Student Chapter program.  Aly led efforts to establish and is currently serving as the president of the […]

Read More

Geomechanica named a top Toronto-based Civil Engineering start-up of 2021!

Starting from the innovative research of three PhD students in Giovanni Grasselli’s Geomechanics Group, Geomechanica Inc. has been named a top Toronto-based Civil Engineering start-up of 2021! Geomechanica Inc. stands with other successful construction and technical engineering design start-ups such as Kinetica Dynamics, Menkes, and Dragados Canada. Based on criteria such as innovative work, growth […]

Read More

ReDevelop Challenge (2019 – 2020)

Congratulations to the Fugitive Gas team for winning this year’s Challenge! The 3rd ReDevelop Challenge (2019 – 2020) was held virtually over a Zoom webinar. The change in format comes amid the social distancing enforced due to the COVID-19 situation. The format this year consisted of 4 teams comprising of 4 post-graduate students, each from […]

Read More

Prof. Giovanni Grasselli Receives 2019 CGS John A. Franklin Award

The prestigious John A. Franklin Award was presented to Prof. Giovanni Grasselli at the 72nd Canadian Geotechnical Conference – GeoSt.John’s 2019 award banquet. The honorary reward, named after the past International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM) President, John A. Franklin, for his exceptional contributions to the Canadian and international rock mechanics community, and to the […]

Read More